Doubling on 21

Ferretnparrot

Well-Known Member
In that other thread we were bugging out about a deck of all aces and tens long story short after thinking about that, i came to the thought that if you split tens and pull an ace and doubling after splitting is allowed can you double on that since you dont get payed 3:2? When is it appropriate if ever to double on 21? 19 doubles on 6 at +1 20 at +5 for hi/lo
is 21 not plausable?

Iv seen rules signs that read double on any first two cards except a point count of 21, so im assuming you cant unless they dont count as your first two cards since one of them is your third card?

Im aware im outside the box again. :)
 
Last edited:

EasyRhino

Well-Known Member
I've doubled on a soft 21. Not because it was a smart play at the time, but because I was drunk. It was very fun.
 

shadroch

Well-Known Member
Ferretnparrot said:
In that other thread we were bugging out about a deck of all aces and tens long story short after thinking about that, i came to the thought that if you split tens and pull an ace and doubling after splitting is allowed can you double on that since you dont get payed 3:2? When is it appropriate if ever to double on 21? surely it would be in that situation when the dealer showed an ace and didnt have blackjack.

Iv seen rules signs that read double on any first two cards except a point count of 21, so im assuming you cant unless they dont count as your first two cards since one of them is your third card?

Im aware im outside the box again. :)
Where have you seen a 3/2 BJ game that would let you double on any two cards but 21?
 

k_c

Well-Known Member
Ferretnparrot said:
In that other thread we were bugging out about a deck of all aces and tens long story short after thinking about that, i came to the thought that if you split tens and pull an ace and doubling after splitting is allowed can you double on that since you dont get payed 3:2? When is it appropriate if ever to double on 21? surely it would be in that situation when the dealer showed an ace and didnt have blackjack.

Iv seen rules signs that read double on any first two cards except a point count of 21, so im assuming you cant unless they dont count as your first two cards since one of them is your third card?

Im aware im outside the box again. :)
If tens are split and an ace is drawn and doubling was allowed on the A-10, it would be a rare case where doubling yields a greater EV than simply standing. Count would need to very high to risk giving up a hand that can't lose (might tie though.)

k_c
 

Ferretnparrot

Well-Known Member
I dont recall what casinos iv seen that posted on signs as i seldom read the signs anymore but to see if they do or donot allow midshoe entry, but i do know that when i have read some signs in AC some of them say those words "double on any first two cards except a point count of 21" but idk what that means and iv never asked a floorperson if i could double on 21 after i split tens because i onely got it a few times and iv only split tens i think 7 or 8 times, that woudl be kinda stupid "Excuse me i just split my tens with two blacks in the beeting circle, am i allowed to doubel on 21?"
 

shadroch

Well-Known Member
Why would you ask a floor-person? You ask the dealer and if she doesn't give you the answer you want,then you ask the PB. Or just do it and see what they say.
The only time I have ever seen that sign is on 6/5 games.
 

jack.jackson

Well-Known Member
With the A02 I double S21 vs 5,6(not BJ))@TC+21 with a surplus of 4 aces w/1 deck remaining or TC+37 on normal ace distribution. Hopefully a program like k_c's will be able answer this riddle for me.
 

moo321

Well-Known Member
MAYBE if you're hole-carding and you have a very high count. But, even then it's just ridiculous.
 

jack.jackson

Well-Known Member
moo321 said:
MAYBE if you're hole-carding and you have a very high count. But, even then it's just ridiculous.
Though I agree, this play should never made in actual casino play(especially w/maxbet) but technically speaking, there actually does become a point where doubling S21 vs 6, becomes a higher +EV as opposed to standing.
 

shadroch

Well-Known Member
jack said:
Though I agree, this play should never made in actual casino play(especially w/maxbet) but technically speaking, there actually does become a point where doubling S21 vs 6, becomes a higher +EV as opposed to standing.
At what point?
 

Mimosine

Well-Known Member
shadroch said:
At what point?
in theory there will be a point at which it is plus EV

but consider how many times in a career you will be able to make this play. it will be very few, so few that you will never see an accurate EV out of it. at least that is my take on it. unless you appear to be piss drunk it is going to cause a real ruckus, it will get called out to the pit, everyone at the table will moan, and chances are you will have a max bet out.....

RvR
riskvsreward.
 

rukus

Well-Known Member
Mimosine said:
in theory there will be a point at which it is plus EV

but consider how many times in a career you will be able to make this play. it will be very few, so few that you will never see an accurate EV out of it. at least that is my take on it. unless you appear to be piss drunk it is going to cause a real ruckus, it will get called out to the pit, everyone at the table will moan, and chances are you will have a max bet out.....

RvR
riskvsreward.
there's no C in ruKus :joker:
anyway, i agree with mimosine. you'll be racing security guys to the door before they can 86 ya.
 
Top